Research and Education
Wenzhou Kangning Hospital Academician Workstation
In March 2018, Wenzhou Kangning Hospital filed its application to start an International Academician Workstation. On March 20, 2020, the Organization Department of Wenzhou Municipal Party Committee and Wenzhou Association of Science and Technology jointly approved the founding the workstation. The Workstation has welcomed academicians from the Royal College of Art and from Canadian Academy of Health Sciences.

Academician Workstation  

In March 2018, Wenzhou Kangning Hospital filed its application to start an International Academician Workstation. On March 20, 2020, the Organization Department of Wenzhou Municipal Party Committee and Wenzhou Association of Science and Technology jointly approved  the founding the workstation. The Workstation has welcomed academicians from the Royal College of Art and from Canadian Academy of Health Sciences. The multifaceted goals of this platform entail in-depth development in medical technology innovation, AI application in psychiatry, basic and clinical research in Alzheimer's disease, medical education, and children & adolescents mental health.

Through project cooperation and management, academician technical consultation and research results transformation, the Academician Workstation strives to provide Kangning Hospital Group with an access to international resources, a broader international horizon, cutting-edge information and medical innovation resources. These all help enhance Kangning's professional competence and empower Kangning to achieve higher level of excellence.  The Workstation has been well endorsed and supported by government of all levels. These district-, city- and higher-level government agencies demonstrate their support through matching financial resources.  The workstation has developed close partnership with The Institute of Advanced Mental Health Research of Wenzhou Medical University.

The Workstation has welcomed three academicians including Andrew James Greenshaw from the Royal College of Art. The executive management teams consists of the Board of Councilors, Director-from-Overseas, Director-from-Kangning, Strategic Consultants, Associate Director for Administrative Affairs, and associate directors for individuals projects. Dr. Andrew James Greenshaw served as the Director-from-Overseas and Dr. Minjie Ye (Vice President of Wenzhou Kangning Hospital) Director-from-Kangning. Dr. Xin-Min Li (Associate Dean of Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry, University of Alberta) serves as the Strategic-Consultant-from-Overseas.

 

Introduction to academicians

1.png

Andrew James Greenshaw

 

Andrew James Greenshaw, a Fellow of the Royal College of Art, Professor of Psychiatry and Neuroscience, Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry; Associate Chair (Research) of University of Alberta, Canada. Director, Canadian Depression and Research Intervention Network (CDRIN), Scientific Director of the APEC Digital Hub for Mental Health, member of the Advisory Board of the CIHR Institute for Neuroscience, Mental Health and Addictions. Main research interest focuses on AI in psychiatry, digital solutions in mental health and e-health technology.

 

Dr. Greenshaw is an internationally renowned scholar in psychiatry. Andy has been active in teaching and research and has extensive experiences in numerous areas, including addiction mechanisms, behavioral and functional neuroimaging, and depression. He has won a number of awards including CCNP Young Investigator Award, CINP Rafaelson Scholar, CCNP Janssen Innovations Award in Neuropsychopharmacology. He is also the recipient of numerous research awards from Alberta Heritage Foundation for Medical Research, the Canadian Psychiatric Research Foundation, the Alberta Mental Health Research Fund, the Alberta Centre for Child Family and Community Research and the Norlien Foundation.

 

 


2.png

Dr.Weihong Song

 

Canada Research Chair in Alzheimer's Disease; Professor and Associate Director, Institute of Mental Health, University of British Columbia (UBC); Senior Advisor to the UBC President on China;

Dr. Song received his medical degree from Chongqing Medical University in 1983. After completing his Master of Medicine degree at West China University of Medical Sciences in 1986, he then stayed in the university and became an attending psychiatrist and a Lecturer of Psychiatry. Dr. Song obtained a MSc in psychobiology and behavioral genetics from Purdue University in 1993 and a PhD in medical neurobiology and molecular genetics at Indiana University School of Medicine in 1996. He received his postdoctoral training at Harvard Medical School (1996-99) and worked as an Instructor at Harvard Medical School (1999-2001). Dr. Song joined UBC in 2001.

 

3.png

 

Dr. Song has been dedicated for many years to the research of Alzheimer's Disease. He was elected to Fellowship in the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences (CAHS) in 2012. He was a recipient of the National Science Fund for Outstanding Young Scholars (Type B, 2005), the “Changjiang Chaired Professor” Award (2006)”, “Thousand Talent Program” Award (2011) and “Friendship Award” (2011). He was invited as a distinguished overseas representative for the 12th Chinese People's Political Consultative Conference and elected as a “Beijing Overseas Talent Aggregation Project” Strategic Scientist.

 

4.png

 

Dr. Song officially joined Kangning in July 2020. As the Chief Scientist in Psychiatry, Dr. Song is to work with Wenzhou Medical University and start the Alzheimer Research Center and Research Institute on Geriatric Brain Illness

 

1606968923891132.png

 

6.png

 

Part of Dr. Song’s Research Agenda:

1. Etiology of AD: congenital etiology and acquired etiology

2. Pathogenesis of AD

3. Early diagnosis of AD, including the application of artificial intelligence and big data technology in AD research

4. AD medication

5. Non-pharmaceutical treatment

6. Prevention of AD and Sociological Response to Aging

7. Sociological response to aging

8. Platform development


Projects and Achievements

The Academician Workstation’s work has achieved positive outcomes since its beginning.

1) moving toward the direction to build an intelligent hospital, a three-party-partnership has been formed among Kangning’s subsidiary - Jeremiah Information Technology Co., Ltd., the University of Alberta in Canada (ranked third globally in AI) and AltaML Inc., the largest machine learning company in West Canada for the Development & Application of Clinical Decision Support System for Mental Disorders. This project has been awarded by Zhejiang Provincial Department of Science and Technology as a Key R&D Program project. Kangning has also been accredited as the Zhejiang International Collaboration Base for Science and Technology (International Collaboration Base for Digital Psychiatry and Alzheimer's Disease).

2) China has yet to see a standardized medical education model or system for the field of mental healthcare. Kangning, as an accredited clinical teaching base at national and provincial levels and for numerous universities in standardized residency training and clinical practices, is to take the lead by introducing international models in medical education and standardized residency training. It also sets to send out its outstanding teachers and students overseas for further study.  In cooperation with Wenzhou Medical University, Kangning has already sent out clinicians to University of Alberta Canada for medical education study and training. In the future, more administrative and medical staff members will be sent out for international visit and training opportunities;

3) In terms of medical technology innovation, Kangning will bring in more international cutting-edge technologies, including US patented technology.

 

Since the founding the Workstation, Kangning has conducted numerous and diverse exchange visits, in-depth discussions and studies with Canadian academicians, partners and experts.

Weili Guan, the Chairman of the Board, joined Zhejiang Provincial Department of Science and Technology delegation with Kangning team to attend Inventures 2019 held by Alberta Innovates.



 

图片21.png

 

President Lianyun Wang led the Kangning team to visit the University of Alberta, University of Alberta Hospital, and CASA Child, Adolescent and Family Mental Health Center.

 

图片6.png

 

International academicians and scholars visiting Kangning for collaborative meetings and exchange on scientific research and innovation

 

8.png

科研教学
院士工作站
2018年3月,温州康宁医院申请成立院士工作站,于2020年3月20日由温州市委组织部及温州市科学技术协会联合发文、批准建站。英国皇家艺术学院及加拿大健康科学院院士专家团队先后入驻。工作站计划布局为医疗科技创新、人工智能在精神医学领域的应用、阿尔兹海默症的基础与临床、医学教育、儿童青少年心理等方面进行深度拓展。

历史与概况

2018年3月,温州康宁医院申请成立院士工作站,于2020年3月20日由温州市委组织部及温州市科学技术协会联合发文、批准建站。英国皇家艺术学院及加拿大健康科学院院士专家团队先后入驻。工作站计划布局为医疗科技创新、人工智能在精神医学领域的应用、阿尔兹海默症的基础与临床、医学教育、儿童青少年心理等方面进行深度拓展。

通过项目合作和项目攻关、院士科技咨询、科研成果转化等形式,院士工作站将为康宁医院集团连结国际资源、开阔国际视野、提供前沿资讯、促进医疗创新,从多方面提升康宁的专业能力,使其更加卓越、更具实力。院士工作站的成立受到了温州当地区、市及更高级政府部门的支持,将为站点投入匹配资源;温州医科大学精神医学高等研究院也与院士工作站建立并形成了紧密的联合。

海外院士工作站目前已经入驻以英国皇家艺术学院的 Andrew James Greenshaw为首的三位院士。工作站以理事会、外方站长、中方站长为主要管理架构,下设战略顾问、行政及项目业务副站长。由Andrew James Greenshaw院士任外方站长,温州康宁医院叶敏捷副院长任中方站长;外方战略顾问由加拿大艾伯塔大学精神病学系主任、医学及口腔学院助理副院长李新民教授担任。

 

院士介绍

1.png

Andrew James Greenshaw

 

Andrew James Greenshaw:英国皇家艺术学院院士,阿尔伯塔大学医学院精神病学系副主任,精神病学和神经科学教授,加拿大CDRIN抑郁症研究和干预网络中心主任,亚太经合组织数字中心科技总监,加拿大卫生研究院的神经科学、精神医学与成瘾研究院的顾问委员会成员。主要研究领域为精神医学的人工智能及精神医学的数字化解决方案和电子医疗技术。

Andrew James Greenshaw院士是国际著名精神病学专家,长期从事精神病学教学与研究工作,同时在成瘾机制、行为功能性神经影像学、抑郁症等研究方面做出了突出贡献,并将理论突破应用于临床实践。曾荣获CCNP青年科学家奖,CINP Rafaelson学者奖,CCNP Janssen神经精神药理创新奖。并且是阿尔伯塔医学研究传统基金会、加拿大精神病学研究基金会、阿尔伯塔省心理健康研究基金 会、阿尔伯塔省儿童家庭和社区研究中心和诺林基金会等多项基金会奖项得主。

 

 


2.png

宋伟宏院士

 

加拿大阿尔茨海默病首席研究员, 曾任不列颠哥伦比亚大学 (UBC)教授、精神卫生研究所副所长, UBC校长高级助理。加拿大阿尔茨海默病首席研究员, 曾任不列颠哥伦比亚大学 (UBC)教授、精神卫生研究所副所长, UBC校长高级助理。

83 年获重庆医科大学医学学士。86 年获华西医科大学医学硕士, 留校任精神科主治医生和讲师。93 年获Purdue 大学心理和行为遗传学硕士, 96 年获Indiana 大学医学院神经医学博士。96 至2001 年哈佛大学医学院博士后,神经病学讲师。2001 年起受聘UBC。

 

3.png

 

宋伟宏长期从事AD的研究,于2012年入选加拿大健康科学院院士。 获国家杰青(B类) (2005)、 长江讲座教授(2006)、千人计划专家(2011)。2011年荣获国家“友谊奖”。十二届全国政协特邀海外列席代表. 2018年获聘北京市“海聚工程”战略科学家。

 

4.png

 

宋院士于2020年7月正式入职康宁,担任精神医学首席科学家,配合温州医科大学构建阿尔茨海默症研究中心和专注于老年脑健康疾病的研究院。

 

1606968923891132.png

 

6.png

 

宋院士阿尔兹海默病诊疗研究项目计划:
1. AD 的病因学研究:先天性病因、后天性病因研究
2. AD 的发病机制研究
3. AD 的早期诊断研究,包括人工智能和大数据技术在AD 研究中的应用
4. AD 的药物治疗
5. 非药物治疗
6. AD 的预防与衰老的社会学应对
7. 衰老的社会学应对
8. 平台载体建设

 

工作开展及所取得成果

院士工作站在成立至今,已经有了初步成绩。

1)在人工智能(AI)方面,医院正和加拿大艾伯塔大学(在该领域排名为全球第三)及其AI伙伴进行深度洽谈,将AI技术用于精神临床医学的项目开发;2)在医学教育方面,由于国内精神医学领域尚无标准或权威性医教模式,所以医院作为国家、省级、多个高校住院医师规范化培训基地及临床见习基地,将率先通过院士工作站引进海外医学教育、住院医规培模式,并选拔优秀师教及学员海外深造。目前,医院与温州医科大学合作,已派出临床医生赴加拿大艾伯塔省进行医学教育的学习及培训。在未来,将有更多的管理层及医务人员前往参访;

3)在医疗科技创新方面,医院将通过院士工作站引进国际前沿高科技技术,包括美国专利技术等。

期间,康宁已经与合作方加拿大院士专家进行多次、多样化的互访、交流与深度合作的探讨与学习。

 

图1:管伟立董事长带领团队随同浙江省科技厅代表团参加加拿大艾伯塔省(Alberta Innovates) 举办的创新论坛(Inventures 2019)

 

图片21.png

 

图2-5:王莲月院长率领康宁团队参观访问加拿大艾伯塔大学、艾伯塔大学医院、儿童青少年心理健康中心

 

图片6.png

 

图6-8为海外院士专家来访康宁进行科研创新探讨与交流

 

8.png